So you were involved in a car accident case but don’t have an accident report at hand?
No worries, we’ll cover the whole procedure of getting your hands on one in Houston, Texas. Since Texas is a fault state, you can sue the liable parties for all the economic and non-economic damages they caused you. But of course, the first step would be to fill up on evidence and get everything documented, this includes getting an accident report as well.
In Houston, Texas, the local police have a Public Affairs Division which keeps an open record of such information and will be more than willing to help you out with a copy of your crash report.
You’ve got many options when it comes to getting a copy of an accident report in Houston, here’s what you can do:
The first, and the simplest method is to write to the Houston Police Department’s Records Division. You’ll also have to send a $6.00 check or money order in favor of the City of Houston, along with your request. Be clear and concise with your request, and you can expect the report by mail at your doorstep at the earliest.
The second way to approach the issue is to go to the office in person, which is currently located at 1200 Travis, Houston, TX 77002, first floor. Pay $6.00 and get your copy of the accident report..
Thirdly, you could log onto the website of the Texas Department of Transportation, find the relevant prompt, fill in the citizens online police report request form, and get your report from there.
You can go for any method that works the best for you, just be sure not to delay matters any more than necessary because time is very important for personal injury cases (due to a two-year statute of limitation).
And be sure to note down the details of your accident case to avoid any problems.
Now that you know how to get a copy of your report, it is important to know when to get it.
Ideally, it is best to wait for a week before marching down to the Police Department’s office. According to the website of the City of Houston, the accident and crash reports are available only 5 to 8 business days after the occurrence, not earlier than this, but this changes with the type of report.
Of course, you never know if your copy is available at the moment or not, so be sure to call ahead of visiting the law enforcement agency, this will save you lots of time and hassle.
This is important because sometimes the driver's crash reports may not be made readily available as per schedule. For instance, car accident cases involving deaths or those involved in a criminal investigation may be delayed.
Information like license plate number or surveillance video (from a dashcam) can help the investigated law enforcement officer, so if you have anything to contribute, let the investigating police officer know.
In such cases, you’ll have to be a bit patient (maintain ethical conduct with the telephone operator) and let the police officers conclude their investigation.
Okay, so that was all for getting a police report or a CR-3 crash report, but what’s next?
What else do you need to get through besides the report process to get compensated fairly for your car accident claim.?
Here’s a brief rundown of things you need to take care of, and you’ll be fine:
This is something you should’ve done on the accident scene. Having photographs of the accident scene showing the crash, the extent of damage you had to sustain including your injuries, and even a couple of videos, can help you greatly in your endeavors.
You, of course, also need the contact information of the liable party and that of any eyewitnesses.
Your medical report and doctor's notes will also be valuable additions here.
Okay, let’s suppose you don’t have the evidence described above, for any reason – hey we don’t judge, there’s a lot more you can do.
One way to tip the balance in your favor is to get private investigators on your case, and no, you don’t need to fly to London to meet up with Sherlock Holmes, your personal injury lawyer would be more than pleased with arranging a professional service for you.
This way, you’ll be able to fill up the gaps in your case and be able to demand compensation from the insurance company.
You’ll also need documented proof of your losses and sufferings to make your narrative convincing. Don’t expect the insurance adjuster to take your word of things – you need to have medical bills, receipts for vehicle repairs, and records for all other accident-related expenses as proof.
Accident injuries can be intense, i.e. internal organ damage, spinal cord injuries, and traumatic brain injuries can have life-altering effects on the victims, but only adequate documented proof (reports), can help you get compensated as per the insurance policy.
Previous medical records, journals, and doctor’s notes can also be valuable additions to this documented evidence, and so can be the Houston area accident/crash reports.
This is not optional if you wish to get maximum compensation for your losses.
Just be sure to contact experienced attorneys as soon as possible after a motor vehicle crash, even if only for consultation.
If you’ve just been in a major car accident, now is not the time to run around the town for a crash report, you need rest, lots of it. Let a team of experienced lawyers handle all the messy stuff, after all, that’s what they’re best at.
Your goal is to get compensated fairly, right?
And you won’t mind gliding through the process without exerting yourself too much?
Then nothing is keeping you from hiring one of our experienced lawyers from Calhoun, Meredith, & Sims; we'll even handle the report request paperwork for you.
We work on a contingency fee basis which means that you won’t have to pay us a penny until we’ve won you your compensation.
Call us now to learn more about how we work!